Truth is a Lifeline

I’ve always questioned everything. Just because “everyone” accepts something as true doesn’t make it so. Most people are too lazy, I suppose, to question and think about stuff, or maybe too stupid to think for themselves.

I could never just go along with certain things just because “that’s what’s always been done”, or “traditions” and “teachings” of men. Likewise, I can’t continue doing anything, or “believing” anything that has no eternal significance.

We live in a world that is under the influence of evil and deceptions of all kinds. It’s mind-blowing to me how many people don’t want to know the truth because they enjoy the “pleasures” of living in the deceptions.

Over 2000 years ago Pilate asked Jesus, “What is Truth?” We live in a postmodern world that denies that truth can be known, but that’s a lie because Jesus said, “I AM the Truth…” and we can know Him if we want to. But once we begin to live in relationship with him, he opens our eyes to the deceptions all around us and we have a choice to make; trust and follow Him or, continue living in the world and believing the lies. Jesus also said, “You will know the truth, and the truth will set you free…” Which means we are set from free from sin, free from condemnation, and free from death (Romans 6:22; 8:1–2). The foundation of knowledge and understanding is established when we believe in who Jesus is and what He came to “do”:
“You are from below; I am from above. You are of this world; I am not of this world. I told you that you would die in your sins; if you do not believe that I am he, you will indeed die in your sins” (John 8:23–24) (The words of Jesus)

However, simply believing who Jesus is, isn’t enough because the Bible states that “even the demons believe and tremble..” but, obviously they are evil.
Once we have a foundation laid by acknowledging and confessing who he is, then Jesus says we must “hold fast to his teachings” which means we not only believe but also obey his teachings.   As it is written in the word of God:  “Live as people who are free, not using your freedom as a cover-up for evil, but living as servants of God” (1 Peter 2:16, ESV).

If we really know Jesus we cannot live as the world lives, trying to conform to their thinking and adapting their “beliefs”, teachings, and traditions. I’ve tried.
It doesn’t work.  It only brings inner struggles and frustrations, and lack of peace and joy.

It takes courage and determination to not only live in the truth, but more so to live OUT the truth. Because once a true disciple starts living as he is called to, ridicule and rejection abound. This is when you need to be more concerned about remaining in pure faith then caring if people “like” you or not, or whether or not they “understand” why you do what you do, or more so why you WON’T do what you don’t do.

I write this from a place of spiritual grief. I see so many people caught up in wrong thinking and pointless living; strangers and people I care deeply for. I’ve lived in the dark, and I’ve lived in the light. I hate the dark. The hardest thing for me to accept is that although I know the Light brings Life, some people still love the darkness and choose to stay away from the Light, rejecting the Truth and embracing deception and ultimately, eternal death and darkness.

I can’t understand why anyone would do this, but I can respect that we all are free to make our choices, and I can still love people where they are.

LikeShow more reactions

Comment

About jmichelle7

I love God, and I'm learning to love people. I've lived an interesting, somewhat adventurous life, and at the age of fifty-something, I'm finally starting to see the beauty in how it all comes together to create a wonderful journey to share with others. I've had the privilege of raising 4 children, all who have become amazing adults who are now living their own adventurous, faith-filled lives. I view the world around me through the lens of Truth found in the Holy Bible. I try to see people the way that Jesus does, while at the same time, try to afford myself that same grace as I continue living one day at a time in a world that is broken and lost without Him. I enjoy outdoor activities, quality time with friends and family, laughter, and quiet times of reading, thinking, and writing. I find my inspiration from other people's stories and experiences, and I gain happiness and fulfillment when I encourage others to look to God to find their peace and hope in Him. I have a simple motto; Live fully in the present, Laugh often and Love sincerely.
This entry was posted in Living, Spiritual growth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

