Choose Love

If part of my purpose is to love no matter what, then the hurtful things that others do, whether intentional or unknowingly, should not matter to me…unless I take offense. One goal of a follower of Christ should be to NOT be easily offended.

I must always keep in mind that the One I follow and learn from, came to a broken and lost world to bring healing and restoration, and as He went about fulfilling His purpose He didn’t get caught up in the politics of the day, or theological arguments, or whether or not one sin was “worse” than another.
He came to teach the truth and to set the captives free.
He wasn’t mad and bitter when others disagreed with Him or didn’t understand His mission; He wasn’t even bothered by His own mother, brothers, and sisters who called Him crazy. And while He may have seemed a little ‘annoyed’ with His closest friends who were a little slow in ‘catching on’ to what His purpose was, He still loved them and ‘put up with them’. And even though he called the people of that generation, ‘wicked and perverse’, He chose to take the punishment for their sin so that they wouldn’t have to. The night that He ate His last dinner with those who knew Him best, He spoke many words to them in an effort to prepare them for what was to come as they fulfilled their purpose on the earth as they continued the work that He began.
Twice He said to them, “This is my command: Love one another”.

This seems so simple in words but clearly, we are living in a time when people do not know what real love is. The word ‘love’ has been overused and misused. We say things like, “I love chocolate!”…”I love sports!” …”I love horses!”…”I love pizza!”
But real love, according to the source of Love, is when you are willing to put someone else’s needs before your own; to lay down your life for another, unselfishly and sincerely concerned about the well-being of another.
We have allowed a wicked and perverse generation to twist and distort our understanding of true Love. What a sad time we live in; but what a perfect time to choose the Way of Love and start living it out every day.

We are all created in the image of God but we certainly don’t reflect that. One person came to make a difference and bring hope for a lost and dying world. He asked His followers to do the same; it’s a perpetual commandment to all who choose to follow Him and to be like Him.

Love is not easily offended.
Love is patient and kind, not jealous or rude.
Love is not boastful, prideful, or selfish.
Love is not easily angered and it keeps no record of wrongs.
Love does not gloat over someone else’s faults, but
Love rejoices in the truth.
Love always bears up; always trusts; always hopes; always endures.
LOVE never fails. (1 Corinthians 13:4-8)love

About jmichelle7

I love God, and I'm learning to love people. I've lived an interesting, somewhat adventurous life, and at the age of fifty-something, I'm finally starting to see the beauty in how it all comes together to create a wonderful journey to share with others. I've had the privilege of raising 4 children, all who have become amazing adults who are now living their own adventurous, faith-filled lives. I view the world around me through the lens of Truth found in the Holy Bible. I try to see people the way that Jesus does, while at the same time, try to afford myself that same grace as I continue living one day at a time in a world that is broken and lost without Him. I enjoy outdoor activities, quality time with friends and family, laughter, and quiet times of reading, thinking, and writing. I find my inspiration from other people's stories and experiences, and I gain happiness and fulfillment when I encourage others to look to God to find their peace and hope in Him. I have a simple motto; Live fully in the present, Laugh often and Love sincerely.
This entry was posted in Living, love, Spiritual growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

